Election 2016 News

Filing date passes; 10 run for county spots

The filing deadline has passed and the ballot is being finalized. See who’s running and for what spots.


Pioneer Editor | bmartin@countrymedia.net

With the April 11 filing deadline for the primary ballot passed, Bowman County and its cities now have a clearer picture of who’s running for office.

The most widely contested seats are those of county commissioner, with 10 candidates.

The candidates whose names will appear on the June ballot include current Commission President Rick Bratten, Commission Pine Abrahamson, both running to keep their seat, Jerry Jeffers, Dave Anderson, Margie Russ, Brandy Getz, Chris Johnson, John McGee, Bruce McLaughlin and Dale Palczewski.

The seats are considered at-large, meaning there are no district affiliation requirements, and the top six candidates will move on to the general election in November. The three candidates with the most votes will be elected onto the board to fill the three available seats.

“There are a lot this year, but once in a past election — since I’ve been here — we saw 11 candidates file,” said Bowman County Auditor Sandi Tivis.

The three total positions available for the Bowman City Board of Commissioners is similarly contested.

Bowman City Auditor Peggy Allen confirmed on Tuesday that the applicants who filed for the two available commissioner seats included Dan Peterson, Sonia Campbell, Ryan Shear and, handing in his petition on the deadline, Myron “Tiger” Vail.

Current Commission President Lyn James and Commissioner Chuck Whitney will compete for the presidency of the board, with no other candidates filing.

Allen said there were no candidates for the city’s two available park board seats. If no write-ins are received, the board would have to appoint people to fill the empty seats following the election.

Seeking to fill the two four-year terms of Rhame’s representative on the Bowman County School Board will be Russ Homelvig, seeking re-election, and Andrea Bowman.

For the single Bowman position on the board, vacated by Sharon Holder, residents Tobiann Andrews and Jennifer Jahner have filed to be on the ballot.

Races for the cities of Scranton and Rhame will be a bit less crowded.

Mayor Robb Pierce running for re-election, unopposed. Sheila Ness will also seek re-election for alderman. Dale Henderson, presently serving on the council, did not file to continue his term. Scranton residents John Truetken and Jason Anderson will face-off for Henderson’s spot.

The Scranton School Board race will see the two incumbents, Kim Sanford and Tony Dillon, seek re-election.

Rhame only had one candidate file in this year’s primary election.

Tina Eagon will seek one of the two available seats, vacated by Scott Luvaas and Andy Adkisson.

There were also two open seats on the city’s park board, which will rely on write-in candidates.

Post Comment